‘I hate crazy’ by David Meyers

“I went on a blind date with an estate agent, but that isn’t why it went wrong. We were getting on well enough, she was pretty but was looking around nervously all the time, like she was being hunted. Anyway we ordered our food and tucked in. After a while, I noticed that she’d finished but had left about a third of her food. I asked if everything was ok with the meal. She replied that it was delicious, she just ‘had this thing’ about always leaving a third of the portion. She clarified specifically that this was not for dietary reasons, just a habit that her and her mother both had. I hate waste, and I hate crazy, so it was not going to work. She also held her cutlery like a lobotimised toddler.”

Leave a Reply

